© INK

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Defense! Defense! Defense! Why?

Why is it that when someone holds us accountable for our actions (or inaction) we tend to immediately get defensive, even angry?  Is it because we are embarrassed at being caught?  Or because we think the person who brought it up thinks they're better than us?  Or simply because we are guilty, know we're guilty and are ashamed of ourselves for not living up to our potential?  Yes, sometimes the motive of the accuser is to elevate themselves or to bring you down a notch, but the next time someone who you know cares about you holds you accountable, try to get underneath the embarrassment and anger and be honest with yourself.  Say to yourself, "Ok.  That's something I need to improve on (or change)." and then do it.

No comments:

Post a Comment